Studio In The Street

11 Jul

On Friday night, my friend and I set out, as we often do, to do some downtown shooting.  As I set out to meet him, I was reminded of a video I watched a while back of Clay Enos shooting portraits in the street.  This gave birth to the idea to set up a studio in the street.

We set up an umbrella with my flash and wireless trigger and a reflector against a wall on the corner of Queen and Peter streets at around 11pm and started stopping people for portraits.

Update – I took a more incognito approach here

Jay McIntyre Photography Street Studio First things First was a couple of test shots on Paul, which grabbed enough attention to start stopping people for their free portraits.

Jay McIntyre Photography Street StudioJay McIntyre Photography Street StudioJay McIntyre Photography Street StudioJay McIntyre Photography Street StudioJay McIntyre Photography Street StudioJay McIntyre Photography Street StudioJay McIntyre Photography Street StudioJay McIntyre Photography Street StudioJay McIntyre Photography Street StudioJay McIntyre Photography Street StudioJay McIntyre Photography Street StudioJay McIntyre Photography Street Studio

This concept generated a lot of discussion about model release forms and whether or not I need one for this kind of shooting.  There is absolutely no plan to profit from any of these images, they will never be used commercially, so I see no need for a model release form.  The purpose of this shoot was to get some on location lighting practice while also giving people a free portrait that they can use for their social media profile pics and such.  And for me to do something that terrifies me, making myself completely vulnerable to strangers.  That said, if you see yourself in this post and would like the image removed, please let me know and I will take it down. (and email you a copy)

BTW, not everyone who’s image I took is pon the blog.  If you had an image taken by me, please email me for your copy!

7 Responses to “Studio In The Street”

  1. Taalke Moffatt July 28, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

    great idea! how did you get the pictures to the people?

    • jmphotographyonline July 28, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

      Thanks Taalke, I had a fistful of business cards so that people could email me to get their photos.

  2. Diana Eftaiha August 5, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

    i like you idea. i see the project is turning out great. please do keep it up!

  3. annatheodoraphotography February 23, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

    bricks really do look great for portraits 😀
    excellent photos!

  4. Patrick D. May 30, 2013 at 11:20 am #

    I love this idea. I think I’d like to try and do the street photography thing, but I’m extremely shy.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shooting Strangers In The Street « Jay McIntyre Photography Blog - September 26, 2011

    […] A while back I posted a series of images that I shot after setting up a “Street Studio” you can see that post here […]

Leave a comment