The Better Way

28 Jan

My friend Derek and I are working on a submission for the Steam Whistle Gallery and we were in need of a shot from downtown, so after work yesterday, I hopped on the better way and took a ride.  I spent an hour or so standing in front of the tripod in the freezing cold and then I hopped back on the TTC because I needed to get back to work.

While I was at the subway station, i thought it would be great to get some subway shots, so I set back up and waited for the shot I wanted.

“Sir, do you have a permit?” It was the driver of the train.

“um no”

“Put it away please.”

As he took off I got this shot:

TTC The Better Way

I wonder if I would need a permit if I didn’t have a tripod?  Or if I was taking a picture with my cell phone.  I doubt I would have, but apparently, once you set up your tripod you look like a ‘professional’

2 Responses to “The Better Way”

  1. Derek Prinsloo January 28, 2010 at 5:38 pm #

    Haha, yeah that’s a pretty universal thing. A buddy of mine and I tried to get similar shots back in the day in Edmonton. We got told off by a transit cop. Like you, we still managed to get a couple shots in though.

    I like the one you’ve got here. Always been a fan of the off-to-infinity perspective and you nailed it nicely here.

    Cheers

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Photo Follow: Jay McIntyre « Life after graduation… - February 11, 2010

    […] – brief and enjoyable – that embellish the photos.  See what I mean in his post The Better Way.  He is story-telling along with the […]

Leave a Reply

